Data + behaviour = object. Data + view = …projection?

• This topic has 5 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 2 months ago by TorbenKoehn.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    usernameqwerty004
    Participant

Should web dev have a language construct for projections of data into a view? Similar like an object is a tuple of data and behaviour, a projection would be a tuple of data and a view (HTML, viewfile, Twig, …). With “data”, I mean here a data-value object (or data-transfer object) – an immutable object with only properties, no methods (except getters). What’s the best way to map a DVO unto a view? Or a list of DVOs.

zmitic

If I understand correctly, you would prefer DTO between entity and view? I.e. not to directly assign entities to templates; is that right?

If so, I recently started playing with this idea. Most simple one, edited a bit to get an idea:

I have an entity PostalCode with just a name and ID. There is no other field like how many addresses belong to it.

But in order to display it in template, I have DTO like this (I used View suffix):

“`php
    class PostalCodeView
    {
    public string $id;
    public string $name;
    private LazyValue $nrOfAddresses;

/**
    * @param LazyValue<int> $nrOfAddresses
    */
    public function __construct(PostalCode $postalCode, LazyValue $nrOfAddresses)
    {
    $this->id = (string)$postalCode->getId();
    $this->name = $postalCode->getCode();
    $this->nrOfAddresses = $nrOfAddresses;
    }

public function getNrOfAddresses(): int
    {
    return $this->nrOfAddresses->getValue();
    }
    }
    “`

The key thing here is **second** parameter in constructor. Factory that creates this View is:

“`php
    /**
    * @extends AbstractViewFactory<PostalCode, PostalCodeView>
    */
    class PostalCodeViewFactory extends AbstractViewFactory
    {
    private AddressRepository $systemAddressRepository;

public function __construct(AddressRepository $systemAddressRepository)
    {