I’m experiencing severe configuration hell in my new PHP role

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    BlueLensFlares
    Participant

Hello,

I’m a software developer who’s been programming for 3 years, and professionally for 1 year. I mostly did JS, Flask/React and Android/iOS stuff in my last job before a new role I just started 3 weeks ago. This post is sort of a venting post, sort of an ask for advice post.

I’m experiencing severe configuration problems in my current role. We have several projects in a very small team with similar skeletons of Laravel or Code Igniter. Some are in Laravel 5.4 or 6 and some are in CodeIgniter 3, but everything is in PHP 7.2 and up.

I am learning PHP, Apache and Laravel/MySQL, and it’s been a really tough time. I code maybe around 50 lines a day, most of my time lately has been with setup and configuring the Apache servers for the dev/test/pre-prod environments, learning Laravel or trying to set a project up. I’m not super familiar with either Apache or Laravel.

Some things I’ve been stuck on: I get cryptic error messages because the Caffeinated modules are either misconfigured from an older project, the symlinks scripts haven’t been run, the .env files have incorrect values, the providers list is missing something, there is a missing ‘pdf’ folder in the storage folder, there’s no write privileges to a cache folder, the Apache DocumentRoot is misconfigured, the php version is incompatible, etc. Migrating MySQL tables have also been challenging because I have to take 2 databases with similar but slightly different attributes (same backbone, different business needs) and smash them together to meet new business needs. Every day it gets better, but every day it gets worse as my responsibilities and tickets pile up.