Looking for an indepth Book about php

• This topic has 5 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 1 week, 1 day ago by 2013-11-01.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    senthuu27
    Participant

Hello,

​

My company allowed me to order a book on PHP and I’m having trouble right now because I don’t know which to choose. I have 2 years of experience and am interested in data structures and MVC (especially routing). For now Im thinking about getting PHP 7 Data Structures and Algorithms but im not quite sure. Another Problem is that most of the books that ive looked into all seem to be deprecated.

​

Can you recommend me something? 🙂

​

Best wishes

penguin_digital

>For now Im thinking about getting PHP 7 Data Structures and Algorithms but im not quite sure

It sounds like you’re after more computer science-based books and not language-specific, which is a good thing by the way, it shows you’re thinking about the bigger picture and growing as a programmer. Some very sound options that I’ve read:

* Code Complete
    * The Pragmatic Programmer
    * Clean Code
    * CODE
    * Design Patterns: Elements of Reusable Object-Oriented Software
    * Don’t Make Me Think
    * Working Effectively with Legacy Code
    * Patterns of Enterprise Application Architecture

A lot of people swear by a book called “Head First Design Patterns” as well but I don’t own/haven’t read it to give it a recommendation because I’m waiting on the new version which should be released at the end of this year.

For learning about design patterns the book mentioned above sounds a good bet but also Patterns of Enterprise Application Architecture would be a solid choice here as it covers every design pattern you can imagine.

shez19833

why PHP? if you already know PHP then think about other things you could improve on? architecture, micro-services, design patterns, clean code/smell etc?

nimmneun